Is ghee lactose free? And more ghee questions answered!

Ghee is often recommended to folks with sensitivities to lactose as a great replacement for butter. If you’re in this camp and wondering, ‘Is ghee lactose free, really?’ keep reading! We get asked this question all the time, so we’ve put together this little list of fun facts to answer some of the most oft-asked questions. By the end we’re sure you’ll see that ghee is much more than just a butter replacement — it’s a sacred food that’s been revered for millennia, and also happens to be super versatile and delicious, too!

What’s Full Moon Ghee?

About ghee

Before we get to our fun facts about ghee, let’s begin by discussing what ghee is. Simply put, ghee is clarified butter. To make ghee, butter is simmered down, and the moisture, milk solids, and impurities are removed. What remains is a premium cooking oil.

With its origins in ancient India, ghee has been celebrated for its taste, healing properties, and nutritional benefits for thousands of years. In recent years, Western medicine has increasingly begun to recognize the many health benefits of ghee.

Is ghee lactose free?

While certainly not vegan (it comes from butter which comes from cows!), ghee is in fact mostly free of lactose and casein. During the process of making ghee from butter, when the milk solids are removed, so too are the lactose and casein (the main carbohydrate and protein found in milk products) making ghee mostly lactose free and pretty safe for those with lactose sensitivities to consume.

However, it should be said that while most of the lactose is removed, ghee does still contain trace amounts of it, so if your sensitivity to lactose is actually an allergy, it’s best you steer clear.

How long does ghee keep for?

Ghee was originally created to prevent butter from spoiling. Given that the milk solids have been removed, ghee can be kept for weeks without refrigerating. An unopened jar of ghee could be stored in a dark place, away from sunlight at room temperature for up to nine months without concern. After the jar is opened, it can stay in its room-temperature cabinet for up to six months or it can be stored in a refrigerator for up to a year.

Is ghee good for frying or sautéing?

Ghee smoke point and flavor are both appropriate for high-heat cooking. Ghee has a smoke point of 482 degrees, which is higher than any other cooking oil except safflower and rice bran. And unlike industrial seed and nut oils with comparable high smoke points, during the ghee-making process, butter only needs to be simmered over a gentle heat to separate out the compounds that burn (aka milk solids). The pure fat left behind is delicious and buttery tasting.

Is Full Moon Ghee really made on the full moon?

Yes! Ghee is traditionally made on the waxing or full moon because according to ancient Vedic texts in India, this is an expansive time during the lunar cycle when the essences of plants and animals are drawn upward. Remaining connected to ancient traditions while honoring the cycles of the moon is important to us, so we offer our respect to the cycles of nature by crafting our ghee on the full moon.

Where can I buy ghee?

Oh, we’re so glad you asked! Full Moon Ghee is happy to offer our grass-fed ghee in a variety of delectable flavors including, Chocolate Ghee, Maple Ghee, Rosemary Garlic Ghee, and Turmeric Spiced Ghee. Head on over to our shop to check out all the sizes we offer, including a subscription service that saves you 15% off your order!

Shop Full Moon Ghee

Sign-up for Ghee-lishious offers!

Our newsletter is filled with great recipes, topics about wellness and all things ghee.

Radical you're in!

Share This