Is Ghee Paleo? The Answer May Surprise You!
We love to celebrate health-conscious food choices, and there are so many different diets out there that promote just that — eating simple whole foods and staying away from heavily processed ones. Whether it’s the Whole30®, Paleo® or Ketogenic diet, the main point is to eat clean foods that will help you feel great. At Full Moon Ghee, we can totally get behind that, and while we’re not experts on any diet, in particular, we can tell you a bit about the benefits of eating ghee. So whether you’re wondering, “Is ghee Paleo?” or just want to learn about ghee, keep on reading!
The Goodness of Ghee
For thousands of years, ghee has been revered in India for its delicious flavor, nutritional benefits and its healing properties. According to Ayurveda (India’s 5,000-year-old medicinal science), ghee is the best oil for the human body. In Ayurveda, ghee is said to stimulate digestion, aid the absorption of nutrients, and reduce inflammation, especially in the gut. Ghee lubricates joints, optimizes skin and eye health, and has an alkalizing effect on the entire body.
Western medicine is on-board with ghee’s goodness, too. Ghee that is made from the milk of grass-fed, happy cows (like Full Moon Ghee) contains vitamins A, D, E and K, omega-3 and omega-9 fatty acids, as well as full-spectrum short, medium and long-chain fatty acids, and so much more. It’s hard to deny the benefits ghee has to offer your body.
“Is Ghee Paleo?” — An Answer From the Non-Experts
There seem to be some conflicting answers to this question. Dairy products, in general, occupy a kind of gray zone for Paleo dieters. This is mostly because though diary is recognized as a great source of healthy saturated fats, vitamins and micronutrients, there are concerns around the effects casein and lactose have on the body. Casein is a protein that behaves kind of like wheat gluten in the body, and lactose is a sugar mostly found in milk. Casein and lactose are usually the culprits behind dairy sensitivities.
So, what if you take the casein and lactose out of the dairy? Like you do when making ghee. Would that mean the answer is “yes,” to our, “Is ghee Paleo?” question?
The answer is, it gets you closer. Ghee is clarified butter, meaning that butter is heated and the milk solids are removed, including all but trace amounts of lactose and casein. Removing the lactose and casein from butter removes the problematic components of dairy while leaving you with a nutrient-rich, shelf-stable, versatile oil.
Eat Well, Feel Well
While we respect the goals of strictly following diets like the Paleo® Diet, at Full Moon Ghee we ultimately think that eating good foods that are made with intention and grown with care will give you a great foundation to health. So if you ask us, “Is ghee paleo?” you’re likely to find our answer to be something like, “Eat ghee as part of a conscious diet that promotes good food made well.”